Deploy

Posted on 04/24/2013 by

2


deploy

Last Sunday in my Sunday School Class, we were studying 2 Timothy, Chapter 2. In the first part of that chapter Paul gives three examples for Timothy to follow. In 2 Timothy 2:3-4, the Bible reads, “Endure hardship with us like a good soldier of Christ Jesus. No one serving as a soldier gets involved in civilian affairs – he wants to please his commanding officer.”

As we were discussing this illustration in class, one of the members commented, I can remember the times that I have been deployed to Iraq and Afghanistan. When I have been in these places where the enemy is very real, I have noticed that my feelings on politics disappear. My problems with others attitudes and habits go away. Any dislike or issues that I have with my job fade away. In these times, my only commitment and goal is to carry out the mission that has been given to me.”

As I heard him make this comment I thought, “That is a great picture of pleasing the commanding officer.” One of the missions that we have been given by our commanding officer is to fulfill our role as a husband in our marriage. Many of us will also have to carry out another role from the commanding officer as a Dad. Our commanding officer never says that the job is going to be easy. In fact, he says that we may endure hardship along the way.

There are going to be distractions at every turn that try to derail us from accomplishing our mission. There are going to be traps and mines placed all along our path to try to ensnare us away from our assignment. We have to be strong in our commitment to our marriage. We have to stay focused on our responsibilities as a husband, father, and leader of the family. We need to be disciplined in maintaining the Godly example of leadership to our loved ones. We have to hold tight to the final goal of pleasing our commanding officer.

So I beg of you today, take on this mission that has been given to you. Put on your armor and sharpen your weapons. Today is the day that you should start your journey.

Are you ready to deploy?

